Guide of Dubai, United Arab Emirates

Information about Dubai

Dubai is one of the seven emirates that make up the United Arab Emirates, whose capital is the city of the same name.
It is located on the coast of the Persian Gulf, in the Arabian desert, and borders on the south with the emirate of Abu Dhabi, with that of Sharjah on the northeast and, through the exclave of Hatta, with the Sultanate of Oman on the southeast and with the emirates of Ajman in the west and Ras al-Khaimah in the north.

The Government of Dubai is governed by a system of constitutional monarchy, headed by Sheikh Mohamed bin Rashid Al Maktum since 2006.

History of Dubai

Although the excavations at Hatta, Al Qusais and Jumeirah indicate that the area was inhabited 3000 years before Christ, there is no talk of Dubai as a city until 1833, the year in which the Bu Flasa tribe, led by the Maktoum family, settled in the Surroundings of Dubai Creek, the natural estuary that extends more than 10 miles on land.

The 60s mark the awakening of Dubai. The hard work of the past decades begins to bear fruit with the discovery of oil.

At the end of the 60s the city already had all the infrastructure to be able to grow freely: roads, bridges, electricity and water supply networks, a good telecommunications system and the airport had been built.

In 1969 Dubai began to export oil and in that year it already had 59,000 inhabitants.
The United Arab Emirates was founded in 1971. Since that time Dubai has gone hand in hand with Abu Dhabi, Sharjah, Ajman, Umm Al Quwain, Fujairah and, one year later, Ras Al Khaiman.

This website uses cookies to obtain statistical data on the navigation of its users. If you continue browsing we consider that you accept its use. More information in privacy policies